Deacons are elected by the people and ordained to lead the church in its care of the poor and others in need, administering the funds provided by the church for these purposes. This ministry is given to the church by Jesus Christ, who came to serve rather than be served...

Persons who fill the office of deacon may be male or female, young or old. Deacons shall have sound judgement, good character, compassion for those in need, availability to people, and a deep abiding faith in Jesus Christ, whose example in ministry they follow. Persons who accept the responsibility of the office of deacon shall engage in such study and preparation as are appropriate to the office, and during their tenure on the diaconate shall continue to study in order better to perform their duties.


Cumberland Presbyterian Church

2280 Parr Avenue
Dyersburg, Tennessee 38024

Built to serve...

...Serving to build.

The Office of Deacon

©Copyright 2011. Cumberland Church

Class of 2015                       Class of 2016                   Class of 2017
Alison Coleman                    Debbie Ford           Jason Alexander      Olen Parker
Suzanne Edwards                 Coleen Jamison       Jamin Barker           David Scott
Charles Maxey                      Paula Mohead         Phil Edwards           Tom Skehan
Gina Moore                         Clete Youmans        Leslie Lay

A. Membership

          1. The Special Committee Shall recommend persons to be considered as candidates for the office of deacon. The diaconate will vote on each individual nominated, recommending to the session by the October meeting a roster of candidates. In order to be recommended, a person must receive at least a two-third majority vote of the deacons present.

2. The session shall consider the persons recommended by the diaconate as well as others. Upon approval of the candidates, the sesion will then nominate candidates to the congregation for election in the November congregational meeting.

3. The ordination/installation of the approved candidates will take place prior to the first diaconate meeting in January.

B. Tenure of Office

          The tenure of office shall be for three years except when filling an unexpired term of a ceacon who left office early. A deacon may be re-elected after being off the board at least one year.

C. To Whom Responsible

          The Session

D. Officers and Duties

          The officers shall be Chairperson, Chairperson Elect and Secretary; elected by the diaconate in the regular January meeting for one year terms effective with the calendar year. The board may elect other officers as may be needed.

          1. The Chairperson convenes and presides over tmeetings and is responsible for the functioning of the board and its committees.

          2. The Chairperson-Elect serves a Vice-Chairperson presiding in the absence of the Chairperson; with the presumption that the Chairperson-Elect will succeed the Chairperson in that office.

          3. The Secretary is responsible for recording the minutes and preserving all records of the diaconates' acitivities.

E. Meetings and Quorum

          1. The diaconate shall meet monthly.

          2. All meetings are to be opened and closed with prayer.

          3. Minutes of all meetings shall be typed as soon as possible after each meeting and copeis are to be mailed to members of the diaconate for personal information and correction. Corrections shall be noted and presented to the Secretary. An agenda of each meeting shall be complied under the direction ofthe Chairperson and distributed to the members no later than one day prior to the meeting.

          4. A copy of all minutes, including committee reports, shall be submitte dto the session for approval.

          5. A majority of the membership of the diaconate will constitute a quorum.

F. Purpose and Area of Service

          The diaconate shall be responsible for areas of service assigned by the session.

The Office of Elder

Elders are the immediate representatives of the people, elected by them to share with ministers in the government and leadership of the church. The elders who comprise the session share with the minister in charge in the pastoral oversight of the particular church.

In caring for and leading the congregation which they serve... they shall isit the people in their homes, praying with and for them, especially for the sick, those who mourn, and others in need. They should encourage the people by word and example to share in the worship, study, witness and service of the church through a faithful stewardship of their time, talents, and money...

Persons who fill the office of elder may be male or female, young or old...They should exemplify the gospel by their good character, sound faith, wisdom, maturity of judgement, discretion, conversation, knowledge of the doctrine and government of the church, and competency to perform the duties of the office.

Church Session
Class of 2015    
John Hamilton
Rob Kerr
Jeff Lay
William Mallard
Green Smitheal
Class of 2016
Sammy Arnold
Tracy Clark
Barbara Gatlin
John Moore
Martha Murray

Class of 2017
Randy Boatright
Steve Clark
Cheryl Cobb
John Ford
Albert Fowlkes

A. Membership

          1. Elders are elected by the congregation which also approves the number of elders on the session and the tenure of office.

          2. Resignations and removal from office by due process must be acted upon by the congregation.

          3. The session nominates candidates to the congregation for election. Nominations may be received from the floor in congregational meetings, provided the candidate has agreed prior to the nomination to serve if elected.

          4. Elders may be male or female deemed to have met the qualifications set forth in the Constitution.

B.  Tenure of Office

          The term of office is for three years unless to fill an unexpired term of an elder who leaves office early. An elder may serve no more that one consecutive term and then rotate off the session for at least one full year before being eligible for re-election.

C.  To Whom Responsible

    The session is responsible to the congregation and Presbytery.

D.  Officers

          1. The pastor is the moderator. When the office of pastor is vacant, the Presbytery will appoint an ordained Cumberland Presbyterian minister as moderator. In the temporary absence of the moderator, an elder or ordained Cumberland Presbyterian minister on the staff, may serve as moderator pro-tem. The moderator is the presiding officer of the session and must sign all approved session minutes. The moderator is a voting member of the session.

          2. The Clerk of the Session is elected by the session for a term of one year and may or may not be a member of the session. The clerk shall record transactions and preserve all minutes of session activities.

E.  Meetings and Quorum

          1. The session shall meet in regularly stated meetings each month and at other times on the call of the moderator or called at the requrest of two or more session members. An agenda, including committee reports, for each meeting shall be compiled and put in the hands of session members at least one day prior to the regular meeting.

          2. A majority of total session membership, including the pastor, is a quorum.

F.  Purpose and Area of Service

          1.  To perform all duties as described in the Constitution.

    2.  To oversee the activities of all boards and committees.

    3.  To appoint members of all committees of the session and diaconate and approve committee chairpersons and vice-chairpersons of the committees.

    4.  To serve as the nominating committee to the congregation for the offices of elders and deacons.

    5.  To elect the Session Clerk, with the term of office being one year. Appointments of all leaders in the Church are subject to approval by the session.